Click to Home

Go To Search

Village News

Posted on: December 1, 2017

Mayor Joseph Mancino of Hawthorn Woods Elected as Chairman of the Metropolitan Mayors Caucus

On November 13, 2017, Mayor Joseph Mancino of Hawthorn Woods was elected as the chairman of the Metropolitan Mayors Caucus at the Caucus’ Executive Board meeting. This is the first time in history that Hawthorn Woods has been represented as the Chairman of the Metropolitan Mayor’s Caucus. Mayor Mancino represents the Lake County Municipal League, for which he previously served as President for the past two years. He is joined in company on the board by Mayor Rahm Emanuel, City of Chicago, 1st Vice Chair; Mayor John A. Ostenburg, Village of Park Forest, 2nd Vice Chair; Mayor Joseph T. Tamburino, Village of Hillside, Secretary; and Claudia E. Chavez, City of Chicago, Treasurer.

“I am honored to represent the mayors in the Chicagoland area on matters of mutual interest and concern,” said Mayor Joseph Mancino. “Individually, we represent both large and small cities, towns, and governmental units. However, through our collaborative efforts at the MMC, we can be more effective as a strong collaborative voice in the region.”  

Mayor Joseph Mancino previously served on the Metropolitan Mayors Caucus Executive Board as 2nd Vice Chair from 2016-2017. The Metropolitan Mayors Caucus is a membership organization of the Chicago region’s 275 cities, towns and villages. Founded in 1997 by then Chicago Mayor Richard M. Daley and leading Mayors from nine suburban municipal groups, the Mayors Caucus pushes past geographical boundaries and local interests to work on public policy issues. The Caucus provides a forum for metropolitan Chicago’s chief elected officials to collaborate on common problems and work toward a common goal of improving the quality of life for the millions of people who call the region home.

The municipal organizations that participate in the Caucus include the City of Chicago and nine partner suburban municipal groups – the DuPage Mayors and Managers Conference, Lake County Municipal League, McHenry County Council of Governments, Metro West Council of Governments, Northwest Municipal Conference, South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association, Southwest Conference of Mayors, West Central Municipal Conference and Will County Governmental League. The member municipalities of each of these organizations are considered to also be members of the Mayors Caucus.

The members each appoint one director and one alternate to serve on the Executive Board. The Board meets every other month and is charged with the responsibility of overseeing general operations of the Caucus. The Board selects a Chairman and Vice Chairman from its membership to preside at meetings and provide inspiration and leadership. The Caucus itself meets quarterly. Terms for Board members and officers are for one year.

For more information about the Metropolitan Mayors Caucus, visit www.mayorscaucus.org.

Download press release
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in Village News

North Shore Gas Meter Upgrades

Posted on: October 19, 2017

2 Lagoon Drive   |   Hawthorn Woods, IL 60047   |   Ph: (847) 438-5500   |   Fx: (847) 438-1459         Contact Us Accessibility Copyright Notice Sitemap Powered by CivicPlus

Go To Search